Invitation for an informal discussion on "communication" and "university"

Dear Ms. Tang,

My name is Eva Tsai and I am the director of the Graduate Institute of Mass Communication at National Taiwan Normal University. Though I have taught and researched at Shida since 2002, I am new to this administrative position. This gives me the opportunity to serve my colleagues and students, who have supported me well over the years in many ways. At the same time, taking up the position presents some new challenges, which is why I am writing.

The first challenge is identifying new areas that can continue to benefit learning, teaching, and research in our program. This would directly impact the decisions in our forthcoming search of a new faculty. In the past, we often considered within the needs of the field (communication).
For instance, we consider what (new and needed) areas of expertise the candidates can bring, how well they complement other existing research areas in the program, etc.

In a way, the field of communication is always on the pursuit of new technologies, whether it’s digitization, platformitization, or AI’s challenge to media regulation and innovations. We are concerned about how society and culture are shaped by not just technologies, but also by new modes of organization and laboring mediated by new tools. Our faculty and students want to build projects that can make an impact outside of the academy. We feel we would benefit immensely from you since you have the experiences of digital innovation and public service at the Cabinet level.